Physics & Astronomy News

Wednesday, June 29, 2016 Ian McLean is a recipient of the 2016 Muhlmann Award for his work on MOSFIRE, a revolutionary near-infrared spectrograph used at the Keck Observatory. Read More
Tuesday, June 21, 2016 Physicist Mani Bhaumik's $11 million gift will help UCLA establish a world-leading center for theoretical physics research and intellectual inquiry. Read More
Friday, May 27, 2016 Postdoctoral fellow Aomawa Shields and colleagues have determined that a distant planet known as Kepler-62f could sustain life. Read More
Monday, May 23, 2016 Professor Tommaso Treu and colleagues used gravitational lensing to detect and confirm the faintest early-universe galaxy ever observed. Read More
Wednesday, May 4, 2016 We are sad to report the passing of Professor Maha Ashour-Abdalla, a world leader and founder of the field of numerical simulation of space plasmas. Read More
Monday, March 14, 2016 Physics & Astronomy will celebrate the 100th birthday of Professor Emeritus Robert Finkelstein on Saturday April 2, 2016 at the UCLA Faculty Center. Read More
Thursday, March 3, 2016 NSF Postdoctoral Fellow Aomawa Shields has won the 2016 Origins Project Postdoctoral Lectureship Award for scholarly achievement and science communication. Read More
Tuesday, March 1, 2016 Prof. Ben Zuckerman was interviewed by the Daily Bruin about his two research interests: one astronomical, one environmental. Read More
Tuesday, February 2, 2016 With sorrow we note the passing of Professor Mike Jura, who brought a unique, theory-oriented viewpoint to the analysis of astrophysical data. Read More
Tuesday, January 26, 2016 Professors Ni Ni, Alice Shapley, and Edward Wright are among the most influential scientists in their fields for 2015, according to Thomson Reuters Corp. Read More

Pages