Physics & Astronomy News

Monday, November 16, 2015 Professor Jean-Luc Margot has proposed a simple test that can be used to clearly separate planets from other bodies like dwarf planets and minor planets. Read More
Saturday, October 31, 2015 Join us for Exploring Your Universe on Sunday Nov. 8, our annual science outreach day at UCLA. Demos, activities, and more. Free admission! Read More
Thursday, October 22, 2015 Claudio Pellegrini has received the Enrico Fermi Presidential Award from President Barack Obama, recognizing exceptional achievements in research. Read More
Tuesday, October 13, 2015 Physics graduate Agostino Marinelli has been awarded the 2015 Young Investigator FEL Prize for outstanding contributions to free-electron laser science and technology. Read More
Tuesday, September 29, 2015 Professor Frank Jenko recently organized Plasma Fest, a symposium showcasing UCLA's plasma research, the largest university-based effort in the world. Read More
Monday, September 21, 2015 Physics & Astronomy Professor John Miao and his colleagues have determined the three-dimensional positions of atoms for the first time. Read More
Friday, September 11, 2015 UCLA postdoc Alex Bataller was selected to present a talk on dense microplasmas at this year's DARPA Rising event, honoring early career scientists. Read More
Wednesday, August 26, 2015 El Pais interviewed Physics & Astronomy Professor David Saltzberg, scientific advisor of the popular television show "The Big Bang Theory." Read More
Thursday, August 20, 2015 Assistant Professor Paul Hamilton has successfully reproduced the low-density conditions of space to precisely measure the force of dark energy. Read More
Thursday, August 13, 2015 Six UCLA astronomers and their colleagues have discovered a planet 100 light-years away, resembling a young Jupiter. Read More

Pages