Physics & Astronomy News

Tuesday, September 27, 2016 The Particle Beam Physics Laboratory, directed by Prof. James Rosenzweig, has reported in Nature Communications a breakthrough in new acceleration methods. Read More
Thursday, September 22, 2016 The Department of Physics & Astronomy is proud to announce the arrival of a new Experimental Elementary Particles physics professor, Michail Bachtis. Read More
Friday, September 16, 2016 Astronomer David Jewitt led the research team that captured the sharpest, most detailed observations of a comet breaking apart 67 million miles from Earth. Read More
Thursday, September 1, 2016 Eric Hudson and his colleagues have discovered an apparent departure from the laws of thermodynamics, according to a recent scientific paper. Read More
Wednesday, August 31, 2016 On Sept. 9th at the Faculty Center, UCLA will celebrate the life of Maha Ashour-Abdalla, a beloved professor of physics who died May 1 at the age of 71. Read More
Monday, August 8, 2016 On September 14, 2016 we will celebrate the life and accomplishments of Prof. Michael A. Jura with a day-long symposium. We welcome your participation. Read More
Wednesday, August 3, 2016 UCLA astronomy graduate student Ryan Sanders and colleagues have discovered a way to precisely measure oxygen in distant galaxies like COSMOS-1908. Read More
Wednesday, June 29, 2016 Ian McLean is a recipient of the 2016 Muhlmann Award for his work on MOSFIRE, a revolutionary near-infrared spectrograph used at the Keck Observatory. Read More
Tuesday, June 21, 2016 Physicist Mani Bhaumik's $11 million gift will help UCLA establish a world-leading center for theoretical physics research and intellectual inquiry. Read More
Friday, May 27, 2016 Postdoctoral fellow Aomawa Shields and colleagues have determined that a distant planet known as Kepler-62f could sustain life. Read More

Pages