Physics & Astronomy News

Monday, January 9, 2017 Eric Hudson has received the Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers given to professionals in the early stages of their research. Read More
Friday, January 6, 2017 The American Physical Society (APS) Conference for Undergraduate Women in Physics (CUWiP) will be held Jan. 13-15, 2017 at the UCLA Luskin Center. Read More
Thursday, January 5, 2017 Professor Emeritus Eric Becklin has been selected for the for the Henry Norris Russell Lectureship by the American Astronomical Society. Read More
Thursday, December 8, 2016 Zhongbo Kang has joined the UCLA Department of Physics and Astronomy as an Assistant Professor. He will be a member of the UCLA Nuclear Physics Program. Read More
Thursday, December 1, 2016 Prof. Jean Turner, graduate student S. Michelle Consiglio, and colleagues have shown that stars are responsible for producing dust on galactic scales. Read More
Monday, November 28, 2016 Astronomer Andrea Ghez has been selected to receive the 2017 Sven Berggren Prize from Sweden’s Royal Physiographic Society in Lund. Read More
Wednesday, November 16, 2016 RSVP by Nov. 17 to join us for the Mani L. Bhaumik Institute unveiling and reception, to be held Monday Nov. 21 in the PAB South Courtyard. Read More
Tuesday, November 8, 2016 Laszlo Bardoczi finds that plasma turbulence prevents filamentary structures called magnetic islands from growing and becoming dangerous for fusion. Read More
Monday, October 24, 2016 UCLA Physics & Astronomy professors Jianwei (John) Miao and Pietro Musumeci have been elected American Physical Society Fellows. Read More
Monday, October 10, 2016 Professor Wes Campbell and colleagues have published a study showing that biologically important atoms could be reliably cooled using lasers. Read More

Pages