Physics & Astronomy News

Thursday, March 16, 2017 UCLA astronomer Mark Morris and colleagues have used a powerful telescope in northern Chile to observe and study a dying red giant star. Read More
Wednesday, March 15, 2017 Assistant Professor Smadar Naoz has contributed to a study of a gigantic planet, giving astrophysicists a rare glimpse into planetary evolution. Read More
Friday, March 3, 2017 Prof. Emeritus and former Dean of Physical Sciences Joseph Rudnick recalls the work of his father, also a UCLA physicist, who defied conventional thinking. Read More
Friday, February 17, 2017 Astrophysicist Jeffrey Bennett will discuss the science and consequences of global warming Tues. Feb. 21, at 7 p.m in Physics & Astronomy PAB 1-425. Read More
Friday, February 17, 2017 Astrobiologist Aomawa Shields studies the climate on distant planets. Her aim: to find those most likely to host alien life. Read More
Friday, February 10, 2017 Astronomy professor Ben Zuckerman and colleagues have published a study indicating that some of life’s important preconditions are common in the universe. Read More
Wednesday, February 8, 2017 Postdoctoral scholar Yongsoo Yang has received UCLA's 2017 Chancellor’s Award for Postdoctoral Research, one of only four granted this year. Read More
Wednesday, February 1, 2017 John Miao and colleagues published in Nature on deciphering 3D chemical order/disorder and physical properties of materials at the single-atom level. Read More
Tuesday, January 24, 2017 Eric Becklin, Professor Emeritus in Physics and Astronomy, has been selected for the American Astronomical Society’s 2017 Henry Norris Russell Lectureship. Read More
Wednesday, January 18, 2017 Professor Ian McLean has been named as the recipient of the prestigious 2017 Joseph Weber Award by the American Astronomical Society. Read More

Pages