Physics & Astronomy News

Monday, February 3, 2014 The inaugural Julian Schwinger graduate fellowship will be awarded in March to an outstanding graduate student interested in pursuing research in physics. Read More
Friday, January 17, 2014 UCLA astronomy professor James Larkin is the lead investigator for the Gemini Planet Imager built at UCLA's Infrared Lab for Astrophysics. Read More
Monday, January 13, 2014 We note with sorrow the passing of our colleague, Professor Emeritus Bernard “Ben” Nefkens, who has died after a lengthy battle with illness. Read More
Monday, December 16, 2013 UCLA Physics & Astronomy has an opening for a tenure-track ladder faculty position in Theoretical and/or Computational Biophysics. Read More
Tuesday, November 26, 2013 The Physics & Astronomy Annual Report, covering the academic year 2012-2013, has just been published and is available online. Read More
Friday, November 8, 2013 Astronomer David Jewitt and colleagues have discovered a bizarre asteroid, located between Mars and Jupiter, with six comet-like tails. Read More
Monday, October 28, 2013 Asteroid 249544, discovered by the WISE space telescope, has been named for Ian McLean, Chair of the Astronomy Division. Read More
Saturday, October 12, 2013 UCLA physicists and researchers played a prominent role in Nobel-Prize winning Higgs boson research. Read More
Tuesday, October 1, 2013 Professor David Saltzberg has been featured on NPR as the science consultant behind the highly successful television series “The Big Bang Theory.” Read More
Friday, September 27, 2013 Zvi Bern has been awarded the 2014 APS J.J. Sakurai Prize in Theoretical Particle Physics for outstanding achievement in particle theory. Read More

Pages