Physics & Astronomy News

Tuesday, May 13, 2014 Ni Ni has received the DOE Early Career Research Award, providing funding to the most creative and productive scientists early in their careers. Read More
Monday, March 24, 2014 Professor Zvi Bern and his team are using newfound calculation tools and shortcuts to develop a quantum theory about gravitational interactions. Read More
Monday, March 10, 2014 Possible evidence for a dark matter particle has been presented at the UCLA Dark Matter 2014 physics symposium. Read More
Thursday, March 6, 2014 Astronomer David Jewitt and colleagues have witnessed for the first time the breakup of an asteroid into as many as 10 smaller pieces. Read More
Thursday, February 6, 2014 Professor Andrea Ghez has been interviewed by Universe Today about her work exploring the center of our galaxy. Read More
Monday, February 3, 2014 The inaugural Julian Schwinger graduate fellowship will be awarded in March to an outstanding graduate student interested in pursuing research in physics. Read More
Friday, January 17, 2014 UCLA astronomy professor James Larkin is the lead investigator for the Gemini Planet Imager built at UCLA's Infrared Lab for Astrophysics. Read More
Monday, January 13, 2014 We note with sorrow the passing of our colleague, Professor Emeritus Bernard “Ben” Nefkens, who has died after a lengthy battle with illness. Read More
Monday, December 16, 2013 UCLA Physics & Astronomy has an opening for a tenure-track ladder faculty position in Theoretical and/or Computational Biophysics. Read More
Tuesday, November 26, 2013 The Physics & Astronomy Annual Report, covering the academic year 2012-2013, has just been published and is available online. Read More

Pages