Physics & Astronomy News

Tuesday, November 25, 2014 Mayank Mehta finds that the brain's space-mapping neurons react differently to virtual reality than they do to real-world environments. Read More
Saturday, November 8, 2014 Please join us at UCLA on Sunday Nov. 16th for this year's most exciting day of science, Exploring Your Universe. It's free and family-friendly. Read More
Thursday, November 6, 2014 Warren Mori, along with UCLA/SLAC colleagues, has developed simulations for an experiment demonstrating the practicality of plasma wakefield acceleration. Read More
Monday, November 3, 2014 Astronomer Andrea Ghez and colleagues have used adaptive optics to identify a pair of binary stars orbiting a black hole in our Milky Way galaxy. Read More
Thursday, October 23, 2014 We welcome Tommaso Treu, Smadar Naoz, and Frank Jenko, who have joined the Physics & Astronomy Department this summer and fall. Read More
Monday, October 20, 2014 Using the world's largest observatory camera, astronomer R. Michael Rich and colleagues will map the structure of the inner Milky Way galaxy. Read More
Friday, October 3, 2014 Dr. Christian Schneider and Hudson lab researchers have improved the resolution of a conventional mass spectrometer by over an order of magnitude. Read More
Wednesday, August 13, 2014 Pietro Musumeci discusses a new electron beam microscope, designed to be one thousand times faster than the highest-speed microscopes in operation today. Read More
Thursday, July 3, 2014 A UCLA Physics and Engineering team has been awarded a prestigious W.M. Keck research grant to develop an ultra-compact X-ray free electron laser. Read More
Tuesday, June 24, 2014 We are sorry to report the passing of Professor Emerita Nina Byers following a recent stroke. Her contributions to UCLA and to physics were invaluable. Read More

Pages