Physics & Astronomy News

Tuesday, April 24, 2018 In this audio interview Eric Hudson discusses how his lab at UCLA has produced a molecule that seemingly violates the classic rules of chemistry. Read More
Monday, April 23, 2018 Three Physics & Astronomy undergraduate students have won the National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship (GRFP) Award. Read More
Tuesday, April 17, 2018 Graduate student John Terry has received the prestigious National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship (GRFP) Award. Read More
Friday, April 13, 2018 Prof. Kang L. Wang has been awarded the 2018 IUPAP Magnetism Award and Néel Medal by the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics. Read More
Tuesday, April 3, 2018 Tommaso Treu and fellow astronomers used NASA’s Hubble Space Telescope to pinpoint the farthest individual star ever seen. Read More
Thursday, March 29, 2018 Assistant Professor Paul Hamilton has been awarded the prestigious 2018 DARPA Young Faculty Award for his work in atom interferometry. Read More
Monday, March 12, 2018 Prof. Robert Cousins has been appointed to a three-year term on the Scientific Policy Committee at CERN, the European Organization for Nuclear Research. Read More
Wednesday, February 28, 2018 Jianwei "John" Miao and colleagues have won the National Science Foundation Special Creativity Award for research on metal alloys for fuel cells. Read More
Friday, February 23, 2018 Director of the UCLA Galactic Center Group, Professor Andrea Ghez, is the focus of a recent NOVA | PBS special called "Black Hole Apocalypse." Read More
Wednesday, February 21, 2018 Tuan Do of the Galactic Center Group, grad student Devin Chu, and colleagues have found a star that will test Einstein's Theory of General Relativity. Read More

Pages