Physics & Astronomy News

Friday, February 23, 2018 Director of the UCLA Galactic Center Group, Professor Andrea Ghez, is the focus of a recent NOVA | PBS special called "Black Hole Apocalypse." Read More
Wednesday, February 21, 2018 Tuan Do of the Galactic Center Group, grad student Devin Chu, and colleagues have found a star that will test Einstein's Theory of General Relativity. Read More
Tuesday, January 16, 2018 A paper by P&A Chair Jean Turner and colleagues was chosen as a science highlight by the Atacama Large Millimeter Submillimeter Array (ALMA). Read More
Wednesday, January 10, 2018 Stuart Brown and colleagues have designed a molecular crystal providing the first proof that a single material can be both static and moving. Read More
Wednesday, January 3, 2018 A UCLA paper by Professor Alexander Kusenko and graduate student Eric Cotner is named DOE Office of Science's #3 top story of the year. Read More
Thursday, December 21, 2017 Astronomer Benjamin Zuckerman suggests that a star 550 light-years away is probably destroying, rather than building, planets. Read More
Tuesday, December 5, 2017 Professor Ned Wright and the WMAP team have won the Breakthrough Prize for major insights into the deepest questions of the universe. Read More
Thursday, November 9, 2017 Hector G. Vasquez, graduate student in the Zocchi Lab, produces action potentials in vitro using the artificial axon. Read More
Monday, November 6, 2017 Prospective graduate student Yilin Zhan obtains the first measurements of bending stiffness for the synthetic polymers PNA and LNA. Read More
Thursday, October 26, 2017 Astronaut and UCLA alumna Anna Lee Fisher will receive UCLA’s first Science and Education Pioneer award at Exploring Your Universe on Sunday, Nov. 5. Read More

Pages