Physics & Astronomy News

Friday, February 17, 2017 Astrophysicist Jeffrey Bennett will discuss the science and consequences of global warming Tues. Feb. 21, at 7 p.m in Physics & Astronomy PAB 1-425. Read More
Friday, February 17, 2017 Astrobiologist Aomawa Shields studies the climate on distant planets. Her aim: to find those most likely to host alien life. Read More
Friday, February 10, 2017 Astronomy professor Ben Zuckerman and colleagues have published a study indicating that some of life’s important preconditions are common in the universe. Read More
Wednesday, February 8, 2017 Postdoctoral scholar Yongsoo Yang has received UCLA's 2017 Chancellor’s Award for Postdoctoral Research, one of only four granted this year. Read More
Wednesday, February 1, 2017 John Miao and colleagues published in Nature on deciphering 3D chemical order/disorder and physical properties of materials at the single-atom level. Read More
Tuesday, January 24, 2017 Eric Becklin, Professor Emeritus in Physics and Astronomy, has been selected for the American Astronomical Society’s 2017 Henry Norris Russell Lectureship. Read More
Wednesday, January 18, 2017 Professor Ian McLean has been named as the recipient of the prestigious 2017 Joseph Weber Award by the American Astronomical Society. Read More
Monday, January 9, 2017 Eric Hudson has received the Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers given to professionals in the early stages of their research. Read More
Friday, January 6, 2017 The American Physical Society (APS) Conference for Undergraduate Women in Physics (CUWiP) will be held Jan. 13-15, 2017 at the UCLA Luskin Center. Read More
Thursday, January 5, 2017 Professor Emeritus Eric Becklin has been selected for the for the Henry Norris Russell Lectureship by the American Astronomical Society. Read More

Pages