Sudip Chakravarty

Contact Information	Knudsen Hall 6-137A Department of Physics & Astronomy University of California Los Angeles sudip@physics.ucla.edu Los Angeles, CA 90095 USA https://www.pa.ucla.edu/faculty-websit	Voice: (310) 825-4974	
Research Interests	Theoretical condensed matter physics, high temperature superconductivity, dissipative quantum systems, disordered systems, strongly correlated electronic systems, foundations of quantum mechanics		
Education	Delhi University , Delhi, INDIA B. Sc. Honours, Physics, 1970		
	Delhi University , Delhi, INDIA M.Sc., Physics, 1972		
	Northwestern University, Evanston, Illino Ph. D., Physics, 1976 Thesis: "Contributions to microscopic theo Supervisor: CW. Woo		3",
Honors and Awards	Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Fellowship (1982)		
	Fellow of the American Physical Society (1991)		
	Fellow of the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation (1992)		
	NSF creativity extension award, 2002-2004		
	Outstanding Referee, The American Physical Society (2009)		
	The American Chapter of the Indian Physics Association Distinguished Scholar Prize (2009)		
	Outstanding teaching awards (UCLA, Physics): 93-94, 94-95, 95-96, 96-97, 04-05, 09-10		
	Overall excellence in teaching: 1999-2000		
	Outstanding teacher of the year: 02-03.		
Employment	University of California Los Angeles , Lo David S. Saxon Presidential Term Chair and	os Angeles, California, USA Distinguished Professor of Physics	1989 - present
	State University of New York Stony Br Professor of Physics	rook, Stony Brook, New York, USA	1988
	State University of New York Stony Brook, Stony Brook, New York, USA Associate Professor of Physics1985-198		1985-1988
	State University of New York Stony Br Assistant Professor of Physics	'ook , Stony Brook, New York, USA	1980-1985
Visiting Appointments	 Visiting Scholar (1987-88), Physics Depar Visiting Scientist (Summer, 1985), NORD 		

• Visiting Physicist (Summer, 1984), Institute for Theoretical Physics, Santa Barbara

- Visiting Scientist (1982-1983), Laboratory of Atomic and Solid State Physics, Cornell University
- Member (1979-80), Institute for Theoretical Physics, Santa Barbaras

Postdoctoral

- Experience
- Postdoctoral Scholar (1976-78), Laboratory of Atomic and Solid State Physics, Cornell University
 Postdoctoral Scholar (1978-80), Physics Department, University of California San Diego (Super-

Synergistic Activities

• General Member, Aspen Center for Physics (1990-2004)

visor: Walter Kohn)

- Honorary General Member, Aspen Center for Physics (2004-present)
- Scientific Secretary, Aspen Center for Physics (1991-92)
- Divisional Associate editor, Physical Review Letters (1995-97)
- Organizer, conference on " C_{60} and Superconductivity", UCLA (1991)
- Organizer (with P. W. Anderson), Aspen Summer Workshop, "Correlations, Fullerenes and Molecular Superconductors" (1992)
- Organizer (with H. -W. Jiang and S. Kivelson), UCLA Conference, "Critical Problems in Disordered Metals" (1998)
- Organizer (with G. Aeppli), Aspen Winter Conference, "Quantum Criticality" (1999)
- Organizer (with E. Abrahams), Aspen Winter Conference, "High Temperature Superconductivity" (2001)
- Organizer (with S. Habib, A. Kapitulnik, and M. Troyer), Aspen Summer Workshop, "Coherence and Dissipation in Quantum Systems" (2004)
- Organizer (with E. Abrahams and J. Hoffman), "2005 Aspen Winter Conference on High Temperature superconductivity"
- Organizer (with P. Canfield and J. Schmalian), "Contrasting Superconductivity of Pnictides and Cuprates", Aspen Winter Conference (2011)
- Organizer (with E. Abrahams and S. Kivelson), "Unconventional order in Correlated electron Sustems", Aspen Winter Conference, (2014).
- Organizer (with P. Wölfle and A. Chubukov), Aspen Summer Workshop, "Quantum Criticality in Metallic Systems" (2017)
- Public lecture, Aspen Center for Physics, "Dialog: Quantum Aspects of Matter" (Summer, 2002)
- Advisory Committee of "Materials and Mechanisms of Superconductivity-High Temperature Superconductors VIII", Geneva, Switzerland, August 23-28, 2015.
- Advisory Committee of "Materials and Mechanisms of Superconductivity-High Temperature Superconductors VIII", Beijing, China, August 19-24, 2018.
- Program Committee of "Materials and Mechanisms of Superconductivity-High Temperature Superconductors VIII", Dresden, Germany, July 9-14, 2006.
- Program Committee of "Materials and Mechanisms of Superconductivity-High Temperature Superconductors VII", Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 2530 MAY, 2003
- National Advisory Committee of the 2007 International Conference on Strongly Correlated Electron Systems, Houston, May 13-18, 2007
- International Advisory Committee for the conference BCS @50, October 9-12, 2007, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
- Elected co-Chair of the Gordon Research Conferences on correlated electrons (2010) and vice Chair (2008).

Thesis Advisor	Graduate: LD. Chang (Industry), R. R. P. Singh (Professor of Physics, UCD), P. Kopietz(C4
AND	Professor, University of Frankfurt), Sumanta Tewari (Professor, Clemson University), G. Castilla
Postgraduate-	(Lecturer, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo), O. Syljuåsen (Professor, University of Oslo), L. Yin (Pro-
Scholar Sponsor	fessor of Physics, University of Beijing), K. Völker (Google), H. K. Nguyen (Finance, Wall Street),
	Shubha Tewari (Senior Lecturer and Director, STEM Education Institute, Department of Physics,
	University of Massachusetts, Amherst), Angela Kopp (D. E. Shaw Research Group, New York),

Pallab Goswami (Assistant Professor, Northwestern University), Xun Jia (Professor, Chief of Medical Physics Division, Department of Radiation Oncology and Molecular Radiation Sciences, Johns Hopkins University), David J. Schwab (co-supervised) (Assistant Professor, Physics, Northwestern University), Jonghyoun Eun (Finance), Chen-Hsuan Hsu (Institute of Physics, Academia Sinica, Taiwan), Arash Bellafard (NIH T32 fellowship, Neurobiology, UCLA), Antonio Russo (postdoc, Virginia Tech.), Zhiqiang Wang (University of Technology of China), Jian Wang (Verizon Media), Ian Powel (Lecturer, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo)), Nicholas Rombes (Graduated, 2021), Steven Durr (Graduated, 2022), Hui Yu (Postdoc, Chinese Academy of Sciences)

Postgraduate: D. Waxman (Professor, U. of Sussex), G. I. Ingold (Professor, U. of Augsburg), A. D. Stone (Professor, Yale), G. Zimanyi (Professor, U. C. Davis), M. Wollensak (Industry, Germany), M. P. Gelfand (Professor, Colorado State), A. Sudbø (Professor, U. of Trondheim), L. Pryadko (Associate Professor, UCR), H.-Y. Kee (Professor, U. of Toronto), D. Orgad (Professor, Hebrew University of Jerusalem), J. P. Hu (Associate Professor, Purdue), J. P. Fjærestad (Lecturerer of Theoretical Physics, University of Queensland, Australia), Cristina Bena (Faculty, LPS Orsay), Amit Ghosal (Professor, IISER, Kolkata, India), David-Garcia Aldea (UNED, Madrid), Ipsita Mandal (Assistant Professor, Shiv Nadar University, India)

Mentored: Jena Meinecke, Rachel Cane (Ph.D. U Penn), Yuezhen (Murphy) Niu (Assistant Professor, UCSB, ECE)), Xiaoyuan Huang (joined grad school, University of Chicago, 2020)